The Federation of St. Kitts & Nevis is a twin island nation in the British West Indies. Twenty-three miles long and five miles wide, the country is also known as the "Federation of Saint Christopher and Nevis" and encompasses an area of 68 square miles. The island of Nevis is located 2 miles to the south of St. Kitts and is approximately 7 miles in diameter, covering a total area of 36 square miles.